Your Friends Should Call You Out

Suck My Chic
3 min readFeb 5, 2021

Why you need people in your life to tell you you’re wrong. | By Sovena Ngeth for Suck My Chic

There’s a quote I resonate with deeply, “you are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” -Jim Rohn.

Friendships are the pinnacle of the relationships we choose to maintain and nurture. “Birds of a feather flock together”; we tend to build friendships with people who share similar philosophies in life, interests, and goals. However, this tendency to surround ourselves with comfortability can become harmful if we only seek our friends’ advice to validate our feelings.

In life, you’re not going to be right all the time. And that’s okay. You need to accept that being wrong allows you to progress and learn from your mistakes. Friendships are not meant to be an echo chamber of your thoughts; in fact, they should serve as a resource to gain new perceptions of life. Your friends should be able to call you out without things becoming personal, and if they do, this creates an inability to grow outside of your comfort zone.

I used to be friends with people who were hesitant to tell me when I was wrong. They would perpetuate my toxic tendencies, such as creating strife and drama for entertainment and always validating my side as being the right side. And back then, I enjoyed this immensely. I felt like I was…

--

--

Suck My Chic

We are a media production company built for the new era of diversity celebration.